Out of concern for the health of our survivors, thrivers and volunteers, we have made the difficult decision to cancel this Saturday’s Pink Ribbon Celebration due to the COVID-19 (coronavirus) pandemic. The health of those we serve is simply our number one priority. We ask that you please let your guests know.

If it can’t be rescheduled, messages and photos will be sent to celebrate our deserving volunteer award recipients.Refunds will be offered. While all of this is unfortunate, we, if anyone, need to be prudent and progressive in our reaction to this unknown time.

Please let me know if you have any questions, and thank you for your continued support.

You can find more information on the coronavirus from the CDC by clicking this link.



This Year’s Winners 

Debbie Willis Award: Sally St. John

Co-Survivor Award: Eric Arthur

Community Service Award: Katz, Sapper & Miller

Outstanding Volunteer Award: Donna Porter

Lifetime Achievement Award: Mary Jo Reed

Beth Lux Team Captain Leadership Award: Beth Lux


Past Circle of Hope Volunteer Award Winners 

Debbie Willis Award is given to a breast cancer survivor whose commitment to the cause far exceeds expectations. Past Recipients: Sallie Bruns, Becky Sage, Ruth Austin, Pam Miltner, Krysti Hughett, Barb Hill, Suzy Faulkner, Mary Jo Reed, Christene Darnell, Karen Alyea, Mamata Patel, Tony Pottorff.

Co-Survivor Award is presented to an individual – male or female – who has exhibited strength, courage, patience, support, flexibility and encouragement in their relationship with a breast cancer survivor. Past Recipients: Betty Knipp, Harold Hiser, Allison Thornton, Terry Payton, Candi McKinnies-Shreve, Harold Reed, Kelly Meyer, Kerri Faulkner Hartwell, Max & Bruce Oldham, Karen Ratzman, Kimberly Barnhart, Himat Patel.

Community Service Award is given to a business or corporation that shares the vision of finding a cure for breast cancer and advances the mission through employee involvement and consistent financial or in-kind support. Past Recipients: Kroger, UPS, Target, Starbucks, Brownsburg Schools, White Castle, Clarian Health, Miller Brooks, Sun King Brewing, Lilly Oncology, Big Picture, Texas Roadhouse Shadeland Location.

Outstanding Volunteer Award is given to a volunteer who – though not a breast cancer survivor – is steadfast, passionate, dependable, dedicated, available and overall has made exceptional contributions to the mission of Susan G. Komen. Past Recipients: Dawn Toth, Lyle Browne, Amy Greenlee, Jane Ambro, Deb Stone, Sue Hanthorn, Jim Furuya, Tom Miltner, Jennifer King, Arev Miller, Bryn Hemsley Masiuk, Natalie Ames, Jennifer Erner, Kyle Vannoni.

Lifetime Achievement Award is given to a volunteer with at least five years’ experience as a volunteer with Komen Central Indiana. The award recognizes an individual or organization that demonstrates leadership and a commitment to the mission. Past Recipients: Tom Miltner, Carolyn Cary, Carla Shaide, Carmen Teed, Heather Zoellick, Joreen Caldwell, Jane Ambro, Jim Furuya, Betsey Lane Salyer, Mary Callahan, Loretta Sutherland, Marilyn Welker Freeman, Annmarie Novotney.

Beth Lux Team Captain Award is given to  a More than Pink Walk (formerly Race for the Cure) team captain who has gone above and beyond to support Komen Central Indiana.

Komen Promise of One Awards were established by Komen national headquarters. These awards recognize two volunteers who have served Komen Central Indiana for at least one year and have made an exceptional contribution to furthering the mission. Past Recipients: Debbie Broerse, Sue Gillim, Kim Wilson, Karin Huys, Maggie Green, Kim Borges, Marty Sloop, Meghan Lyons, Shelly Ayres, Jean Smith, Wayne Gauck, Kristi Klukowski, Ginny McIntosh, Marilyn Freeman, Carla Schneidewind, Jinger Moore Garrison, Nicole Richards, Lester Trotter, Lori Tragesser, Monte McDonald, Debra Alexis Jefferson, Clarissa West.