Each year, we bring together everyday heroes from central Indiana – people who have made a difference in the local fight against breast cancer – to celebrate their dedication and commitment.


Thursday, November 3, 2016

Indiana Historical Society
450 West Ohio Street, Indianapolis 46202

Cocktail reception with Hors d’oeuvres from 6 – 7 pm

Recognition ceremony begins at 7 pm

Business or casual attire

Please RSVP online or by phone (317-638-2873) no later than October 27.

Award Winners 

The deadline to nominate someone for one of the following awards was Tuesday, October 18, 2016. We will open nominations again next fall for the 2017 Circle of Hope celebration. 

Debbie Willis Award is given to a breast cancer survivor whose commitment to the cause far exceeds expectations.
Past Recipients: Sallie Bruns, Becky Sage, Ruth Austin, Pam Miltner, Krysti Hughett, Barb Hill, Suzy Faulkner, Mary Jo Reed, Christene Darnell, Karen Alyea

Co-Survivor Award is presented to an individual – male or female – who has exhibited strength, courage, patience, support, flexibility and encouragement.
Past Recipients: Betty Knipp, Harold Hiser, Allison Thornton, Terry Payton, Candi McKinnies-Shreve, Harold Reed, Kelly Meyer, Kerri Faulkner Hartwell, Max & Bruce Oldham, Karen Ratzman

Community Service Award is given to a business or corporation that shares the vision of finding a cure for breast cancer and advances the mission through employee involvement and consistent financial or in-kind support.
Past Recipients: Kroger, UPS, Target, Starbucks, Brownsburg Schools, White Castle, Clarian Health, Miller Brooks, Sun King Brewing, Lilly Oncology

Outstanding Volunteer Award is given to a volunteer who – though not a breast cancer survivor – is steadfast, passionate, dependable, dedicated, available and overall has made exceptional contributions to the mission.
Past Recipients: Dawn Toth, Lyle Browne, Amy Greenlee, Jane Ambro, Deb Stone, Sue Hanthorn, Jim Furuya, Tom Miltner, Jennifer King, Arev Miller, Bryn Hemsley Masiuk

Lifetime Achievement Award is given to a volunteer with at least five years’ experience as a volunteer with Komen Central Indiana. The award recognizes an individual or organization that demonstrates leadership and a commitment to the mission.
Past Recipients: Tom Miltner, Carolyn Cary, Carla Shaide, Carmen Teed, Heather Zoellick, Joreen Caldwell, Jane Ambro, Jim Furuya, Betsey Lane Salyer, Mary Callahan, Loretta Sutherland

Komen Promise of One Awards were established by Komen national headquarters. These awards recognize two volunteers who have served Komen Central Indiana for at least one year and have made an exceptional contribution to furthering the mission.
Past Recipients: Debbie Broerse, Sue Gillim, Kim Wilson, Karin Huys, Maggie Green, Kim Borges, Marty Sloop, Meghan Lyons, Shelly Ayres, Jean Smith, Wayne Gauck, Kristi Klukowski, Ginny McIntosh, Marilyn Freeman, Carla Schneidewind, Jinger Moore Garrison, Nicole Richards, Lester Trotter, Lori Tragesser, Monte McDonald

If you have questions about Circle of Hope, please email info@komencentralindiana.org.